Kindle eBook Highlights Saved in Evernote

When I read professional development books I like to add highlights and notes via the Kindle App on my iPad. Once I’ve finished the book, I like to copy those highlights and notes to Evernote to store, share, or edit them.

Below is the process I use to transfer my highlights and notes from Kindle to Evernote. This process will work regardless of if you are using an actual Kindle device, a Kindle smart phone or tablet app, or the Kindle Cloud Reader on your computer. It only works on books you have purchased from the Kindle Store or checked out of the Kindle Lending Library. For example, it will not work on PDF documents that you have imported.

After the highlights and notes are created, sign in to your Amazon Kindle page on your computer.

Image

Click the Your Highlights link at the top.Image

All the highlights from all your books will be displayed, starting with the lastest one. So scroll as needed to locate the highlights from the appropriate book.

book highlights

Once you’ve located the book you want, click and drag to select all the highlights from this book. If you have the Evernote Web Clipper installed for your browser you can now use it to send what you have just selected to your Evernote account. If you don’t have the Web Clipper installed, you can just copy your selection and then paste it into a new Evernote note.

Image

What is super cool about this is the included links for each of the highlights. If I’m viewing the Evernote note with the highlights on my computer, I can click one of the location links and the Kindle app will open on my computer and go directly to that sentence in the ebook. This also works on my iPad. I can open the note in Evernote, tap a location link, and the Kindle app launches and displays the page with my highlights or notes.

evernote note2Some books do have a “Clipping Limit” set by the publisher. This means that only the percentage of highlights and notes set by the publisher will be available on Your Highlights webpage. This may mean that all your highlights and notes do not appear on Your Highlights webpage. At this point, I’ve had only one book with a clipping limit, but my highlights and notes did not exceed the limit.

Amazon also has a storage limit per customer for annotations. So I try to make a habit of copying the notes right after I’ve finished the book. This way they are also at the top of the My Highlights page, easy to select.

8 thoughts on “Kindle eBook Highlights Saved in Evernote

  1. Hello Janetta,

    I found your post helpful and detailed. There has indeed been a few ways to export notes and highlights although some find it difficult and bothersome.

    There is an iOS app that is going to be released this November 2013 called Snippefy (www.snippefy.com). Through Snippefy, Kindle users can export notes and highlights to Evernote, Dropbox and Email. It will also be easier for them to read and share these notes and highlights since they will be stored all in one place.

    I wanted to share this with you and your readers as I find it very useful, I hope you would too.

    Thank you

    Nathan

  2. Pingback: Liberating annotations in Personal Documents from the Kindle | Maira Carvalho

  3. Pingback: Professional Reading: Annotation Work Flow | Digitally Enhanced by Janetta Garton

  4. Hi,

    Thank you for the great article. I must admit I think I’ve tried every solution for managing Kindle notes and highlights and the one I’ve settled on is http://www.clippings.io. It allows you to export to Word/Excel/PDF/Text and http://www.Evernote.com.

    It also allows you to browse and organise your notes on their website and also on your mobile.

    Best thing of all is that it’s free.

    Hope you find this useful.

    Cheers

    Jim

Leave a Reply

