Have you been Skyped?

I’m sitting on my couch with the laptop, reading my bloglines feeds. Melinda skypes me and we try to set up our first melinda.gifconference with 3 people, talking and chatting back and forth as we struggle with getting in that 3rd person. The next thing I know, she is investigating the newest commentor on her blog and seeing if he is a Skype user. She then boldly proceeds to call him, inviting him into our conversation. Amazingly he is there and agrees to converse with us! It was a real pleasure to visit with Mr. Malone. I have read some of his blog posts and recognized his b/w headshot icon in Skype. He was very gracious in answering our newbie questions. From the looks of his PEP Tech Talk blog and wikis, I would enjoy working with him.

While I’m skyping, my daughter has called one of her friends and wandered upstairs. As I hear bits of their conversation I realize she is using the speakerphone and is playing her friend on Webkinz. I don’t know how she learned about the speakerphone. They are obviously having a ball. My husband knows he is stuck in a family of tech geeks. He often complains that I love the computer more than him. It’s not true, of course. It’s just … there is so much out there to see, do, and learn; and I love learning something new.

A few months ago I didn’t know… what RSS was, how to post a blog, what skype is, how to subscribe to a podcast, or how much fun Webkinz could be. I have learned so much these past few months. What conference have I recently attended to learn all this, you might ask? None. I’ve learned it all through reading blogs and listening to podcasts. Really!

Technorati Tags:

2 thoughts on “Have you been Skyped?

Leave a Reply

