Sensational Zentation

The On-line Publishing sessions for the Time4 Online Conference, feature Suzie Vesper’s session: Involved Community and Motivated Children – Publishing Presentations Online. Her wiki, Publishing Videos On-line has a wonderful collection of resources. I especially enjoyed her presentation for the conference for which she used Zentation, a mashup tool that combines Google Video and Slideshare. I’ve not seen this before. She also has a wiki on Web2.0 tools that has some great resources.

Online Conference and Zentation

 

3:45

Using online tools for publishing

Suzie recommends using Google video to post your educational videos because it allows you to set a level of privacy, but still provides code to embed the video in a wiki, blog, or website. YouTube also provides privacy levels, but requires you to make a video public in order to acquire the embedding code. I know that currently both of these sites are blocked by our filter, but TeacherTube is not. She provides examples of videos in education including to: demonstrate learning, capture events, publicize the school, and educate teachers.

I wanted to hear a New Zealand voice respond to me when I used the YackPack walkie talkie on the Publishing Videos On-line wiki, but alas, I was the only current visitor of the wiki, so no response to my yack. Take a go at it, as they say in New Zealand.

Technorati Tags:

3 thoughts on “Sensational Zentation

  1. Hi there Janetta,

    Glad to hear that you found my presentation useful. I didn’t have much luck finding people to talk to with my YackPack walkie talkie either (well, only Mum when I was testing it but that doesn’t count!) If you do want to try it out again, we could find a time to suit us both. I have been reading through your blog and I am really enjoying it. I’ll make sure to check back in here regularly.

  2. Thanks for the comment, Suzie. When I read it I hear your wonderful accent. I enjoyed learning about a new tool(Zentation) from you. The YackPack is novel and fun, and might be useful if you wanted to collaborate with someone who doesn’t use Skype. I hope you continue to comment on my blog, or even subscribe :>) I love having visitors.

Leave a Reply

