Easily Make Your Own Online Forms or Surveys

Google Docs recently updated their online form feature. I’ve published 2 screencasts on using this tool. The first one shows you how to create a form. The second screencast shows how to share the form, access the data, and edit the form. (Visit the Fusion website to access all my Google Docs screencasts and the handouts.)

I use this tool to publish an online registration form for our District Tech Workshops. The data is collected in an online spreadsheet at Google Docs that I can access from any computer connected to the Internet. I receive an email whenever someone registers. I also provide a link which visitors can click to view the spreadsheet of registered participants, but not edit it.

I also used this tool as a part of my safety lesson. It was the first day for the 8th graders to use the laptops in class. I was asked to go over the rules and expectations, hardware basics, and safety. I wanted to give the students an opportunity to use the laptops and avoid them passively watching my presentation. After composing 8 questions, I created an online form for each. I edited the confirmation message to include feedback, the correct answer and further safety tips related to the question. I created a link to each of the 8 online forms/questions on their class website. After reading a questions in my slideshow and discussing it with their team, students would submit their team’s color and their answer. When I saw most of the students were finished entering responses, I would display the spreadsheet of data. The students enjoyed seeing all the responses displayed. Since they didn’t have to use their names, they weren’t embarrassed by wrong answers. Because I repeated the lesson several times throughout the school day, I would have to clear the content in the 8 spreadsheets before the start of the next class.

We also have used a Google Docs form to collect students’ passwords for their online accounts (epals and Google Docs) so that the teachers can quickly remind forgetful students.

Mrs. Crandall, one of our High School teachers, is creating forms in Google Docs to use as electronic worksheets in her class. She feels the students will be more motivated when using a digital worksheet, as opposed to paper pencil. All the results will be accumulated into one spreadsheet which can easily be graded. No paper or copies required.

Please submit any ideas you have for how you can use a Google Docs form in your classroom using this Google Docs Form. The results from the survey can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

