Recently Answered Questions August 20

What software can my students use to record podcasts?

I recommend the free software Audacity. You will need to install the Audacity software and the LAME MP3 encoder, which allows you to export your recording as an mp3. To learn more you can see my handout and screencasts on the Fusion: Publishing a Podcast webpage.

Where can I upload audio recordings, or podcasts, to make them available online?

I recommend using Podomatic. This free service is dependable, not blocked by the filter, and provides adequate features for most teachers. To learn more you can see my handout and screencasts on the Fusion: Publishing a Podcast webpage.

Can I embed an mp3 file uploaded to Podomatic on my WordPress blog?

Yes. First copy the web address for your mp3 file from the Podomatic site.

shortuct

When composing the post, click the HTML tab. Position your cursor where you want to embed the player. Type

bracketsSee the example below.

code

When you publish your post, your visitors will see this player and be able to play your podcast from your blog post.

player

Do I create my students’ Google Docs accounts?

Your students can sign up for a Google Docs account themselves using their epals email account which is set up by the school.

How do I get access to my students’ Google Docs files?

Your students will need to “share” a file with you in order for it to be accessible through your Google Docs account.

Can I get a longer USB cable to connect my doc camera to my computer?

Yes. An USB extension cable of up to 16 feet is allowed.

What software do you use to create the screen captures in your handouts?

I use SnagIt by Techsmith. The cost for educators is $37.95.  They have a free 30-day trial download available.

What software do you use to create your screencast videos?

I use Camtasia Studio by TechSmith. The cost for educator is $179. They have a free 30-day trial download available.

SISK12 Questions

Click the question to view the pdf handout with the answer.

Leave a Reply

