I’ve Sold My Soul to Google

Since I live in Google, (my browser’s homepage is set to opens tabs for Google Calendar, GMail, and Google Docs), it occurred to me that using Google’s Chrome browser might have its advantages. I decided to just try Chrome, confident that I would not like it better than Firefox with all my procured extensions. As a result, after one day of playing, I’ve set Chrome as my default browser.

  • Speed: Immediately I noticed how quickly the browser loaded on startup and the speed at which web pages were displayed. Yes, those 13 add-ons I have installed in Firefox affect the speed of startup.  But even after installing kindred extensions in Chrome, the improvement in speed is still evident.
  • Simplicity: I prefer clean, uncluttered design. The browser has all the features I use, without the fluff or bulk.
    • No more separate Google Search field in the toolbar, just use the address field.
    • There is no text Menu Toolbar, which cleans up the header of the browser. All the features are accessable via the Customize and Control buttons on the right.
    • I used the Bookmarks Bar to imitate the Delicious toolbar that I used in Firefox to display my top 15, used nearly everyday, sites. The icing on this cake is the sync feature, which syncs the bookmarks I created on this station, with my netbook and school desktop stations. Once I log into my Google account, Chrome will sync my bookmarks.
    • I often like to use Firefox’s Recent Pages button to navigate a few pages back with 1 click. This same feature is available with a right click on Chrome’s back button.

  • Style: I like to have a few customization features.
    • Themes: About 125 options to choose from with 1 click to apply.
    • Extensions: I was able to find corresponding extensions for all my vital Firefox extensions. I must have a Delicious button to tag sites and an Evernote button to archive web content. I need to be able to choose Gmail as my default email program and have 1 click access to all my Google Tools (Handy Google Shortcuts). Some Firefox extensions I no longer needed. I discovered some bonus Chrome extensions that I didn’t have in Firefox: Select to Get Maps, Google Similar Pages, Google Calendar Checker, Google Tasks, Send by GMail). At this point, the scale tipped heavily to the Chrome side. Some Firefox Extensions that I haven’t found yet, or that aren’t available, include: Norton Internet Security Toolbar and DragDropUpload. I may replace Norton with WOT. The DragDropUpload is not a deal breaker.

Click to view larger.

  • Security: Now that adware and spyware is so prevalent, and we move more into the cloud every day, browser security is key. I recently happened upon a blog post about a security show that hosts a contest for hackers and experts.
    • The Pwn2Own 2010 Contest at the CanSec West security show gives hackers and security experts a chance to demonstrate their ability and try to breach the security of various devices and software. “Safari was the first to fall, followed by Internet Explorer 8 on Windows 7. Firefox on Windows 7 x64 was also taken down, as was the iPhone’s mobile Safari. Google Chrome, however, has yet to succumb.” –Download Squad March 25, 2010
    • Pop Up Blocker: To enable popups for particular sites, you just click the Customize button>Options>Under the  Hood>Content Settings>Pop-ups>Exceptions and use the Add button to enter the web address (without the http://www.)
  • Compatability: Nearly every site that I’ve visited has functioned well in Chrome. SISK12 and DESE’s ePeGS are not compatible with Chrome. I tried installing some Internet Explorer extensions for Chrome, but the sites still don’t function properly. I’m already accustomed to using IE for these 2 sites, so not a problem.

Now, if only I could get Chrome on my iphone.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Sold My Soul to Google

  1. We mentioned this yesterday, but now, after two days at this year’s Pwn2Own browser-hacking competition, Chrome alone stands unhacked; hackers infiltrated every other browser on day one. Perhaps the best indicator of Chrome’s security is the fact that competitors haven’t even attempted to crack Chrome’s “sandbox” despite a $10,000 prize. Chrome gives every process started within the browser very limited privileges to get the job done, keeping it essentially in the sandbox, so while it’s possible to get in the sandbox, you can’t do very much while you’re there. It seems like this bodes extremely well for Chrome’s security system, especially compared to its competition—and it’ll likely give more people reason to choose Chrome over Firefox. [ITworld] -Lifehacker http://lifehacker.com/5502835/day-two-no-one-even-attempts-hacking-chrome-at-pwn2own-competition

  2. I’ve come over to the “dark side” as well. Been using Chrome for about 3 months and every time I find a great extension, I end up creating a tutorial for it. I came straight from IE8 so I’d never used Firefox. I’m just loving idea of using extensions. I read the post about the hackers having a tough time with the sandbox also.

    Thanks for your post.
    @Ileane

Leave a Reply

